A Quick Meal


I am always on the look out for a quick and easy meal.  By the time I get the kids from daycare and get home it is almost 5:30 in the evening and Cooper is ALWAYS starving and Rozalin likes to eat about 6:15.  So I am on a mad dash scramble for a meal.  I prefer to pull something out of the freezer in the morning and place in the oven on timed bake so that when we get home supper is minutes from being ready.  Generally I freeze several casseroles ahead of time so I always have a variety, then when I get home I pop some kind of steam in the bag vegetables in the microwave, through a tossed salad (by through I mean open a bag of mixed greens) together and viola we have dinner. 

On the nights that I do not have a casserole in the oven and we do not have leftovers in the fridge ready to nuke I have a few quick meals that come together in a very short amount of time.  I thought I would share one of these meals with you all.

How to make a Chalupa (5)

Chalupa’s are a quick and easy meal that everyone seems to enjoy.  You will need the following ingredients: ground beef, cheese, tortillas, refried beans, lettuce, tomatoes, taco seasoning and if you like you could also use sour cream, salsa and guacamole.

How to make a Chalupa

Brown your ground beef in a skillet, and add the taco seasoning as directed on the package.  I do not always use taco seasoning sometimes we just have unseasoned ground beef however on this particular evening I was out of taco season and substituted a package on enchilada sauce mix.  It was wonderful.  I will definitely be doing that again.

How to make a Chalupa (3)

While the ground beef is browning, in another skillet melt some grease.

In a small sauce pan heat the refried beans.  (sorry no picture)

How to make a Chalupa (6)

How to make a Chalupa (7)

Fry the shells golden brown on both sides in the grease.  Place on a plate covered with a paper towel in the oven set to warm to keep them fresh while you fry enough shells for your family.

How to make a Chalupa (11)

Once you have all the shells fried you are ready to assemble.  Place a shell on a plate and using a rubber scraper apply a layer of refried beans.

How to make a Chalupa (12)

Sprinkle on some ground beef.

How to make a Chalupa (8)

Add lots of cheese.

How to make a Chalupa (9)

And Lettuce.  At this point you can also add fresh tomatoes, salsa, sour cream, or any other topic you like.  Next enjoy! I can usually whip this meal up in under twenty minutes, and it is a hit with Cooper and Scott.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Mexican. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A Quick Meal

  1. Kendra Coleman says:

    Loved the pictures of this meal. Ree had better watch out…. you are going to give her a run for her money…… Marlboro Man and Scotty could have quite the cooking wives!!

Leave a Reply

