Knit Receiving Blankets


I have been steadily working on getting ready for the arrival of little miss.  Can you believe that she is almost here?  I am still in shock.  The time has flown.  Half of the things I wanted to get done are not going to be done before her arrival, but that is okay.  She will not notice.  We are still very undecided on a name, I almost think we are going to have to see her to be able to give her a name.  But anyway enough rambling.  I have been slowing whipping  up some crafts for the house as well as some sewing for the baby.  I made two darling knit receiving blankets that I am head over heels for. 

I follow a fantastic blog called Make It and Love It, this woman is amazing and has the best craft/sewing ideas and tutorials I have come across yet.  If you are a beginning or even an experienced seamstress, I highly recommend checking out her blog.  I am constantly wowed by the things she makes.  For the knit receiving blankets I used her tutorial found on  here.  The instructions are simple and easy to follow. 

I got all my knit fabric at Fabric.com and it is from Michael Miller.  It is a wonderful weight and easy to work with. 

Making these blankets I also got to try out my walking foot on my sewing machine.  I have had this machine for five years and always been to afraid to try the walking foot.  But after reading the instructions from Make It and Love It I was easily able to use the foot and discovered that it makes sewing with knit much easier. 

Recieving Blanket 1

I used two very different knit fabrics.  I could not decide between them so I just used both fabrics.  I made the blankets 36” by 36”.  I found that when I had Cooper he was so long that most receiving blankets were not big enough to get him properly swaddled, and I also did not like that commercially sold blankets were not square.  So mine are big squares. 

Recieving Blanket 2

I made the binding from a coordinating knit and also cut out the letters from the coordinating knit. 

Recieving Blanket 3

I used wonder under to adhere the letters and then just stitched around the outside of the letters for extra stability. 

Recieving Blanket 5

The second blanket probably turned out to be my favorite.  The owl turned out to be so cute.   I now want to but an owl on everything. 

Recieving Blanket 4

I used some of the extra brown from the previous blanket for the branch and scraps from the binding on this blanket to make the body of the owl.  The rest of the fabric is scraps that I had in my scrap basket.  I did the owls eye lashes by hand with embroidery thread.  I could not be happier with the way this blanket turned out. 

Anne

This entry was posted in Baby, Crafting, Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Knit Receiving Blankets

  1. Kendra Coleman says:

    How very cute….. I’m not even surprised! Aren’t you glad you talked to me and got the idea!! HAHAHA, I’ve still got it in me, idea after idea!!

  2. Jayna says:

    Very cute. You are so crafty.

  3. Lynne Townsend says:

    The blankets are darling and I of course, LOVE the owl!! You should start a business. LOL

  4. The owl blanket is just adorable! Love the colors too. Definitely my fave!

    Melissa
    http://www.lovebugliving.com

  5. The owl is so cute and I love the striped blanket. Both are so sweet.

  6. Laura says:

    That is an awesome job! I have been wanting to try applique and now I will! Love the owl. You should sell some on ETSY!

  7. Melissa says:

    The owl blanket is totally my favorite! Would love it if you came by and linked up to my Manic Monday Linky Party!
    -Melissa
    http://serendipityandspice.blogspot.com

  8. I love these blankets – both the stripe and the owl. Great job!!

    -sara @ applestonedrive.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

