Trick or Treat


So I know that I am a few days behind in posting our Trick or Treating but hey I am caught up now.  I started out the fall asking Cooper what he wanted to be for Halloween, he promptly told me he wanted to be a Payloader.  I instantly got into craft mode giving some thought and consideration to how to go about constructing a Payloader, collecting boxes and making a mental plan.  I was completely unable to my husband on board with this idea so I was all prepared to tackle it myself, then it hit me being six months pregnant, working full time and chasing after a three year old, I was simply not going to have the energy to get the Payloader constructed by myself. 

So with one week to go to Halloween I drastically shifted gears and started to trying to come up with another costume idea that I could easily manage to get together by my self.  All of a sudden the husband to my rescue.  he suggested making Cooper be a stop light.  I gave it some thought and came up with plan on how to make the costume.  Enter a late Saturday evening run to Hobby Lobby to pick up some black fleece followed up with a run to Target for a black sweat shirt and black sweat pants.  I was able to make the colored lights from scraps of fabric I had in my stash.  One hour of time, constructing and I had a darling stop light costume for my little guy. 

IMG_2619

He loved his costume and declared that sweats are soft and comfy.  He is normally a child who will wear only jeans and cowboy boots.  So this was a big step for him.

For Trick or Treating we headed out to the local walking trails where every year businesses and organizations set up along the trails to hand out candy to all the kids.  This is a major event and business are told to plan on 1000 kids.  This is considered a very large turn out for our little town.  It is the place to see and be seen on Halloween night. 

IMG_2621

Scott had to work on Halloween but eventually caught up with us on the trails.  Please forgive me as I have very few pictures from actually Trick or Treating but keeping up with a three year old in a big crowd like that requires all my concentration. 

IMG_2624

The people handing out candy really get into the spirit by dressing up and decorating their spaces.  Cooper was fascinated with this display and loved the kitty in the “bubble”.

IMG_2625

One last shot.  I hope everyone had a great Halloween.

 

Anne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Trick or Treat

  1. Jayme Thiessen says:

    I think that is the cutest stop light I’ve ever seen. Hope you are all doing well!

  2. Lynne Townsend says:

    How cute and how clever!!!! Cooper is “quite the little guy”!!!!

  3. Kendra Coleman says:

    Are you trying to get “Mother of the Year” making a homemade costume???

  4. too cute! such a creative idea for a costume!!

  5. Heidi says:

    Awesome!!! My weekly linky party–One Creative Weekend–has gone spooky this week in honor of my thirteenth party. If you haven’t already, I hope you’ll visit “One Creative Weekend” on OneCreativeMommy.com (open every Fri-Wed) and link up this idea and anything else you’d like to share. (You can include non-Halloween posts as well, but feel free to link up as many Halloween-themed posts as you like.) There are two categories—one for Halloween and one for everything else.

  6. Cute! The costume cracks me up!
    I would LOVE for you to link this up at my Ginger Jamboree Link Party!!

Leave a Reply

