Jumbo Orange Harley Bag


A while ago a co-worker of mine commissioned me to make her a purse with the Harley Davidson logo on it, however she decided that for every day use a larger purse was going to be needed so I took to the challenge.  I am a huge fan of the Jumbo Glam Bag bag designed by Tiffany, so for the larger bag this was my obvious choice, with a few modifications.  I like to make my straps 10” longer and add a zipper pocket on the inside. 

HD Jumbo 1

This bag is classy, sophisticated and very versitile.  It is probably one of my fabric bags.  I have made myself several as well as made them and given them away as gifts. 

HD Jumbo 2

The black and white fabric I found at my local Hobby Lobby and the orange fabric is from Heather Bailey’s Bijoux Garden collection. 

HD Jumbo 3

One of the great features of the bag is that the bow can be removed since it is held on with a safety pin.  This makes washing the bag easy and efficient.  As well for those who do not handle frilly bows it comes off.  Myself personally I love the bow it is a bit of whimsy and girly that I crave. 

HD Jumbo 4

There is an outside slip pocket on what I refer to as the back of the bag and this is where I  placed the HD logo.  This time I did a square patch and used a font that was preloaded in my embroidery machine.  I think it turned out much better than the previous patch seen here. 

HD Jumbo 5

Again I left the edges on the patch unfinished so that they can continue to fray and get a shabby chic look. 

My co-worker was very pleased with this bag and says she has received lots of compliments on it. 

 

Anne

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jumbo Orange Harley Bag

  1. Very Cute! I am in awe of people who can sew things like bags! I can just do curtains:)

  2. Rachel says:

    Love it! I love the fabric/color choice, and it seems like it wasn’t a headache to make! Yayyy summer bag!

  3. Alicia says:

    I LOVE this bag! The colors are great! So cute!

  4. Leslie says:

    This is a perfect bag for a teenager’s summer days! Thanks for sharing!

  5. Amanda @ ECE says:

    How cute is this bag! I am loving the big orange bow! Darling!

  6. Tiffany says:

    You did such a great job with my pattern! I love that you modified it to it you! My friend sent me your link so I thought I’d drop a quick note and say great job! 😉

Leave a Reply

