A Custom Bag


A fellow co-worker asked me to make a purse for her and her sister.  She wanted a black and orange one for herself and a black and pink one for her sister.  The bag she envisioned was a one small enough to fit into the saddle bags of her motorcycle since they will both be traveling to Sturgis this summer with their spouses for the motorcycle convention.  I was also asked to incorporate and HD for Harley Davidson.  Now I am in no way shape or form affiliated with Harley Davidson, nor do I hold the patent for their logo, but I was willing to put an H and D on the bag. 

Here is what I came up with:

HD Orange 1

The bag is about 11” wide x 8.5” tall x 2” wide. 

HD Orange 2

I installed a snap closure and two sets of slip pockets.  The lining fabric is Heather Bailey from her Bijoux Garden collection and the color is tangerine.

HD Orange 3

This is my second attempt at digitizing and I thought it turned out well.  The patch will continue to fray around the edges giving a cute well worn look. 

Now for the pink version:

HD Pink 1

It is made from the same pattern I made for the orange one and the pink fabric is also from the Heather Bailey Bijoux Garden print only this is the Cinnamon color.

HD Pink 2

A close up of the patch on the pink one.

It was great fun to get to sewing and designing again and I am looking forward to taking on some additional projects. 

This entry was posted in Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Custom Bag

  1. April says:

    Ooo! I love those fabrics! Great job! Thanks for linking up to Sew Crafty Saturday Party ! Can’t wait to see what you have for next week.

  2. Pingback: Jumbo Orange Harley Bag | Cowboys And Cocktails

Leave a Reply

