Taco Soup


Yesterday was extremely cold here and I wanted to make something warm and filling for my husband who was out amongst the elements all day.  Therefore I decided to scrounge in my pantry to see what I had on hand that would fit the bill.  Taco soup quickly became the answer. It is one of our favorites and fits the ticket for warm and filling.  I followed Paula Deen’s recipe found here Taco Soup

I didn’t have all the ingredients but I substituted to make it work.   I also always add extra corn since that is one of our favorite ingredients.  This time I also mixed it up and added mexicorn for additional flavor . 

The ingredients:

IMG_4131

First Brown the Onions in a little bit of Extra Virgin Olive Oil (please note that I am very lazy and buy my onions pre-chopped to avoid the tears and work).  I go ahead and do this in the pot I will be simmering my soup in.  If I am going to let the soup cook in the crockpot on low all day then I just brown everything in a regular skillet.

IMG_4133

After the onions have cooked down add the meat and brown. 

IMG_4134

After the meat has browned, drain and return the meat and onion mixture to the stock pot.  Add in all your canned ingredients as well as the seasoning packets, and stir to combine everything.

IMG_4135

Allow to simmer on the stove for at least an hour for all the flavors to combine.  Serve with chips, sour cream, green onions, guacamole and or cheese.  Enjoy!

 

Anne

This entry was posted in Cooking, Mexican, Soup. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

